Casting Vision

I want to begin this blog by asking two questions;

Firstly, what are some of the greatest injustices facing people across the world today? Sex trafficking? Poverty? Domestic abuse?
Right.
Secondly, where would YOU be if you had never encountered the saving power of Jesus?

There are many injustices which stir my heart but lately I’ve been realising that the worst of all is that so many people have still never had the chance to encounter the saving power of Jesus’ love. I know from experience that Jesus’ love brings comfort in every trial. He may not always bring me out of the trial but He is ALWAYS faithful to walk me through it.

I’m sure many of you know this too. We know this firstly because someone told us, for some of us it was our parents, a friend, a pastor, but in every case we know this with all certainty because at some point we called out to the Lord and He answered us.

“How then shall they call on Him in whom they have not believed? And how shall they believe in Him of whom they have not heard?” (Romans 10:14)

I grew up in a city where there was a church in every neighbourhood but still I was 23 years old before I ever heard the full gospel and when I did, it changed my life completely. How much more powerful will the impact be when it is shared in places where the majority of the population have never heard of Jesus’ love?

“How then shall they call on Him in whom they have not believed? And how shall they believe in Him of whom they have not heard? And how shall they hear without a preacher?” (Romans 10:14)

My hearts desire is to really be a part of the answer. I long to say ‘yes’ to God’s call to go. For me, it is all about the ‘one’. If I am blessed with the opportunity to preach to hundreds and see them come to know the Lord then Hallelujah, my heart will rejoice. But if I have to spend hours, days or even weeks pouring into one person until they come to understand who Jesus’ really is, then I will still rejoice. Which is not to say that I won’t continue to preach to the hundreds in the meantime. I truly believe that if you reach someone in such a radical way that they truly grab hold of God with everything they have; you will create an instant evangelist and ‘one’ will become ‘ten’ and soon ‘one hundred’ and so on.

So my vision is ‘To share the gospel with those who have never heard and proclaim the love of God from a place of real knowledge.’
For me, the first step is a trip to East Asia. 12 weeks of University ministry in a nation which is one of the worst for Christian persecution. We will be preaching the love of God to the youth there in order to raise up a generation of evangelists and leaders on fire for Jesus. It is the first time our Kansas City base has sent a team to this part of the world so we will really be pioneering the way for other teams to come here; laying the groundwork for YWAM within the nation and building relationships with leaders there.

After this, I intend to go back to the Philippines to help out with Church Based Outreach in Cebu. When I was there in February, God really gave me a heavy burden for the people there. I have been longing to go back there ever since I left and now that I have a greater understanding of God’s heart for the nations and the part He is asking me to play, I am keen to return to the Philippines and share His love with the people there.

This is not just a one-time mission trip. I really feel like the Lord is calling me to full-time missions and my heart is really to live and do ministry in Asia.

At present I am working alongside YWAM (Youth With A Mission) and I hope to continue working with as I truly identify with the vision to know God and make him known.

“How then shall they call on Him in whom they have not believed? And how shall they believe in Him of whom they have not heard? And how shall they hear without a preacher? And how shall they preach unless they have been sent?(Romans 10:14-15)

God is calling everyone to share in what He wants to do across the globe. If you feel stirred by what I have shared here then I want to invite you to prayerfully consider partnering with me financially. In order to walk out my calling as a full-time missionary, I need people who will partner with me on a monthly basis. I believe that God is stirring hearts to be involved in sending me out into the nations. Also, in order to go on outreach and then on to the Philippines, I need to raise $5000USD (£3200GBP) – this is to cover travel and ministry costs. Please pray about giving towards this goal.

If you would like to find out more information or pledge monthly support, please email me (heather.a.farmer@gmail.com) or contact me via Facebook. If you would like to make a donation right now towards my trip you can go to http://www.gofundme.com/heather-farmer
Also, please consider sharing this page with friends and give others the opportunity to partner with me.

Much love and many thanks,
For His GLORY.
Heather

Leave a Reply

