Moving Mountains

I’m facing a mountain.

It towers before me and everything around me seems to fall under its immense shadow. It seems almost impossible, when I look at it, for me to climb this thing and get to what’s waiting on the other side. I’ve been waiting, sitting at the bottom of the mountain for a while, considering my options.

The mountain is called money.

On September 27th (which is roughly 14 weeks away, in case you didn’t know) I will be arriving in Kansas City, Missouri to begin a Discipleship Training School with YWAM (Youth With A Mission). This is something I am hugely excited about as I truly believe this is God calling me to train and prepare for the next season of my life.

However, before I get there I have to pay for my visa, flights and school fees (which includes a 10 week outreach). A huge task. A mountain of a task. The kind of money it takes to cover all those costs is the kind of money that this little girl has only ever dreamt of.

It seems almost impossible, when I look at it, for me to climb this thing and get to what’s waiting on the other side. I’m doing it wrong. I’m focusing on the wrong thing. I’m looking at the mountain when I should be looking at the one who moves mountains. Nothing is impossible to God and because I live in Him, through faith in Him nothing is impossible to me either.

“Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.” – Matthew 17:20

So I will close my eyes and focus on the mustard seed of faith that I have. And my money mountain will crumble.

If you would like to donate or find out more about my plans, please click here.

One thought on “Moving Mountains

  1. Amen, Heather!

    (I need to do the same… and sometimes I’m finding the scariest thing is that when doors DO open (and God moves mountains), I just want to run away!! Because I’m scared of my own inadequacies. So to keep my eyes on God and know that all is in His will according to His plans and purpose is my constant prayer. Miss you and love you.)

Leave a Reply

