Updating Update

I’ve been home from Cebu for just over two weeks now. The photos are all edited, the post-trip laundry is all done, the catch-up coffees/dinners have been had and I’m starting to feel as though I never left Scotland at all.

Except I definitely did.

I know this because although outwardly my life doesn’t really look too different – inside, everything has changed. While sharing some follow-up testimonies with Laura, one of the leaders of the team I went away with, I was able to finally sum up what I’ve been struggling to put into words; ‘I truly feel like my life was radically changed during that trip. Like I finally gave my life to Jesus in action rather than just in words.’

Like I FINALLY gave my life to Jesus in action rather than just in words.

What an amazing revelation. I am working on putting together a video of some of my footage and photographs from the trip and trying to flesh out my sparse journal entries from while I was away so that I can begin sharing some real stories here. But for now I want to share some of my favourite images from the trip and the brief highlights that they represent.

Flying over the Philippines

Flying over the Philippines

This trip was my first time travelling alone, as well as the furthest I’ve ever been from home and I can honestly say that I felt nothing but complete peace during the whole journey. For me this was a sure sign of God’s presence and the first time I have ever been so aware of people’s prayers working around me.

881931_2907206416477_556104713_o

Teaching the young ones to use the camera. (Photo Credit: Danelle Dunken)

At our first Sunday service in Carcar I set up my camera to capture the worship and team testimonies. As soon as I did, lots of the kids came over to see what I was doing. I had so much fun showing them how the camera worked and letting them take pictures of each other. I loved being able to share with them.

Giving out tickets at a school assembly

Giving out tickets at a school assembly

When I was editing the photos from this school assembly this one really stood out to me. It was always really fun to be able to capture the interaction between the kids and team members. I love that I was able to get this exchange between the two.

If you’d like to see more of my photography then please check out my portfolio.

Leave a Reply

